Jonathan Stern

Every man needs a reliable barber

I’ve used the same barber for 5 years now. Gaetano T. -- an elderly Italian man with more command over a pair of scissors than anyone I’ve ever met.

Late last year Gaetano announced he was moving outside of Boston, to a suburb called Medford 15 mins away. Devastating news. No way did it make sense to spend extra money ubering there and back. I thought I was going to have find a new barber.

Last weekend I was reminded of how happy I am that I stuck with Gaetano. All my life I've struggled to find someone who is able to cut it how I like it. Someone who uses a straight razor and Clubman aftershave and other old-world novelties. And doesn’t charge $75.

In the chair of any other barber, I’m tense the whole time. Monitoring their every move because of how many times my hair has been butchered. With Gaetano, it’s the opposite. Never once has he left me with a cut I was unhappy with. He’s thorough and dependable and has such a calming presence that I’m able to close my eyes and fully relax. My 45 mins with Gaetano is among my favorites times of the month.

I pay a little more now because of transport costs, but sticking with Gaetano has been among the best decisions I’ve made. Every man needs a reliable barber. Even if it means paying $25 more than you’d like.