Jonathan Stern

The only direction—forward

I saw a tweet yesterday from Ali Debow, founder of swsh. "if you're an ambitious & social college-student feeling the itch to help grow a start up this summer, DM me. you might be the perfect fit."

It hit me: that era of my life is done.

I don't know why it just hit me... I guess it's that I didn't do anything like this while in college, and now I'm wondering how things might be different if I had. It's not like I'm old! I'm only 29. But for the first time, I’ve encountered a job posting for a startup (I can't come up with a good reason why the world needs another photo-sharing app - but I'm intrigued that Peter Thiel thinks we do and thinks Ali should be the one to build it), and my overwhelming reaction is: gosh I’m too old for that.

Part of me wishes I could go back in time. But there are no do-overs in life. No rewind buttons. Life is a single direction game. As its tectonic plates shift, the only direction is forward.

Anyway - I’m excited about this new generation of founders like Ali. I’ve always found it odd and a bit concerning that my generation produced so few early-20s earth-shattering founders. I hope this next generation will remedy that.